Book Review – The Dead Man: Face of Evil

I read The Dead Man: Face of Evil by Lee Goldberg and William Rabkin during spring break.  It is the first book in a new series, and also the first book I have read on my computer.

I guess it is a supernatural thriller, and maybe this is my sci-fi / fantasy nerdyness speaking, but it doesn’t read as a supernatural book.  It reads as a book for dudes and is funny and hip from page one.

The protagonist is an easy to relate to man’s man named Matthew Cahill.  He’s a lumberman with a dead wife, best friend, and new love interest.  The premise felt a bit shaky to me as I read the book, but the descriptions of what goes on are perfect.  The relationships felt very real, and drew me right into the story.  I got to know each character by seeing how they interacted with the characters around them.  The end of the story felt a little rushed, but I think that might be because I didn’t realize I was near the end as I was reading.  It certainly left me wanting the next book in the series.

All in all, I had a very enjoyable time with the book.  It is well-written, and easy to read.  It is short enough that I would even recommend it to my friends that don’t really read that much.

One thought on “Book Review – The Dead Man: Face of Evil

Leave a Reply

